Short Films Galore

I recently discovered the National Film Board’s Facebook page and website – what an amazing treasury by Canadian artists and filmmakers! For the past year, the NFB has been embedding their films online to make them more accessible to the public, with very successful results.

I’ve been enjoying so many classics that I hadn’t seen in years – here is a sampling of my favourites.

The Big Snit by Richard Condie

The Cat Came Back by Cordell Barker

The Sweater by Sheldon Cohen (based on “The Hockey Sweater”, a story written and narrated by Roch Carrier – every Canadian child has read this at least once in their lifetime)

Le même court métrage, mais en français cette fois-ci!

The Log Driver’s Waltz (a fitting tribute to Kate McGarrigle)

I’ve also discovered some very cool new-to-me films…

A Sunday at 105 by Daniel Léger (a fascinating story of a 105-yr-old Acadian woman, filmed by her great-grandson)

Madame Tutli-Putli by Chris Lavis and Maciek Szczerbowski (a stunning animated film in HD)

I am totally hooked – I can’t stop watching!

Leave a Reply

