It’s All Greek To Me…

Last night was the first session of my Greek language course…aie!

We learned and practiced pronouncing and writing the alphabet several times. It was interesting to me how the Greek pronounciation is very similar to the French pronounciation for many words, which is definitely an advantage for me.

For the first time in my life, I am actually having to put effort into learning a new language. I was lucky enough to be raised in a bilingual household, where I learned to speak English and French simultaneously. It wasn’t an effort for me to learn either language; it just came naturally. Learning Greek is a whole new experience: learning a new alphabet, new sounds, etc. is a bit scary, but fascinating noentheless.

I am lucky to live in Greektown here in Toronto, so I can already start practicing reading some of the Greek characters and words found on street signs and in stores. And for the first time in a very long time, I am having to memorize in order to learn – not such a bad thing after all, I guess.

I feel invigorated – and hopeful!

Opa!

3 thoughts on “It’s All Greek To Me…

  1. What does “opa” mean? In German, it means “grandpa” đŸ˜‰ Great you’re going for new languages. I intend to learn, once more, proper Spanish. Tried several times already in my life but I keep hopelessly mixing it up with French and Italian, it’s just too similar to them (and then again, too differing at the same time). Sigh!

  2. My understanding is that “opa” doesn’t mean anything at all – it’s just a word Greeks use to exclaim their excitement (sort of like “hurray!” or “yippee”)…

    Learning Spanish or Italian would have been so much easier for me (they are still on the list of languages to learn – maybe later this summer?). I thought Greek would be easier since I was under the impression that many French or English words are derived from Greek, but that doesn’t seem to be the case at all! I still have no idea what I’m reading most of the time!

  3. When I was young & living in a hostel we had Greek girls, immigrants, who were the maids. We got to know them & learnt some Greek. I used to know the alphabet and quite a bit of vocabulary, but most of it is gone now, overtaken by other languages I’ve learnt since then. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

