Happy Canada Day!

I just finished watching the Canada Day concert on Parliament Hill broadcast on Rogers Cable… I have to admit it was a bittersweet experience for me, for several reasons. I used to organize part of the Canada Day festivities in Ottawa, and although it is a great event in itself, my memories are not all positive ones… If only the public knew what really happens behind the scenes at these events!

I can’t help feeling bitter/melancholic that my absolute favourite band, Blue Rodeo, performed at this year’s event. Throughout the years I worked at the event, I hoped they would perform so that I could schmooze with them. Alas, it was not to be. The powers that be waited until I left to hire the band to perform…

I can’t help being impressed with Blue Rodeo’s performance, however. They are as fantastic as ever, and Jim Cuddy was painfully handsome as usual. Sigh.

I always had an amazing vantage point for the fireworks display, backstage, away from the crowds. Unfortunately, mostly as a result of working for Canada Day festivities, I’ve developed a hatred of crowds and can’t stand being amongst hoards of people. I guess being surrounded by 300,000 drunken partygoers one too many times will have that effect on you.

All in all, I was impressed with the lineup on the Hill – Diane Dufresne excepted. Then again, maybe that’s just me.

Nowadays, I prefer celebrating Canada Day quietly, at home, watching the festivities on TV, which is exactly how I spent my evening. Everything is now well with the world.

Leave a Reply

