Frida Star Book

A few weeks ago I took part in a Swap-Bot swap featuring handmade books. After reading my partner’s profile, I discovered that she is a huge admirer of Frida Khalo. That set the wheels in motion and this is what I put together for her:

frida-star-book1.jpg  frida-star-book2.jpg  frida-star-book3.jpg  frida-star-book4.jpg

The book itself had been lying around the house for some time – I had made it as a demo during one of the workshops that I was teaching. I had no idea what to use it for…until I realised that its colourful inside pages prefectly reflected Frida’s colourful paintings. An idea was born!

My partner indicated she was quite happy with her book, for which I’m glad. Part of me loves the simplicity of the pages, but part of me wishes I’d had more time to embellish the book. I’m in love with this book nonetheless and I’m happy it went to a good home.

2 thoughts on “Frida Star Book

  1. Pingback: Star Book Workshop: May 26 « Papermusings

Leave a Reply

