Seeing Stars…and Bears

I don’t know how I ever managed to resist making star books for so long. I had always considered them “artist books”, whereas I felt my books were more “artsy books”. And yes, there is a difference.

But once I tried making one star book, I was hooked.

Here are my latest creations:

sm-fortune-star-book.jpg
Small Fortune Star Book

pink-purple-lg-star-book.jpg
Large Pink & Purple Star Book

And my favourite to date, made with a new line of Basic Grey papers:
basic-grey-lg-star-book-2.jpg basic-grey-lg-star-book.jpg

I can see this last one becoming an advent calendar or a super duper Christmas ornament/gift/album.

If you’re in Toronto, I’ll be teaching how to make these projects at Urban Scrapyard later this week. Check out the Events and Workshops page for more details.

In addition to the books, I also worked on finishing one of B’s carvings. He had to leave in a rush (I think HE’s the one who should read “Getting Things Done” by David Allen, not me!), so I was delegated the task of water sanding, washing, heating, waxing and polishing this polar bear carving. Guess what I did Friday night and Saturday morning???

bear-carving-1.jpg Bear Carving in the Sanding Bin

bear-carving-2.jpg Finished Bear

2 thoughts on “Seeing Stars…and Bears

Leave a Reply

