Exhausted…

but for a good reason. Look what I made:

nature-sketchbook1.jpg

Looks simple enough. A sketchbook made of watercolour paper. Ah, my friend, there lies the deception. This is the reason I am so tired and achy all over:

nature-sketchbook2.jpg

This book was commissioned by my director at work, so of course I wanted to impress him and do a good job. He gave me free reign when it came to the decorative binding, so I went and chose the most complicated binding I could find in Keith Smith’s “1- 2- & 3-Section Sewings: Non-Adhesive Binding Volume II”. Goes to show, I never learn. I had never tried this particular binding before, and although I knew it would be a lot of work, I underestimated just how long it would take me to do the sewing part. THREE LONG HOURS. Here is a close-up of the spine:

nature-sketchbook-spine.jpg

I am thrilled to report that I didn’t make any major mistakes, and I love how it turned out. I was lucky, I guess, that it turned out so well on the first try. Knock on wood…

However, having spent a large chunk of the day on this book, I am concerned because B. finally arrives from his trip tomorrow morning (after two long months) and the house is a complete disaster. I kinda neglected the housework while he was gone and chose to focus on my bookbinding projects and activities…so now I am scrambling to make the house presentable before I leave at 5:30 am tomorrow morning to pick him up at the airport.

By the way, Happy Late Canada Day! I spent a nice, quiet day shopping (finally checked out the Martha Stewart line at Michael’s) and last night I watched the Canada Day concert broadcast live from Parliament Hill. I remember that growing up in small-town New Brunswick, every year I’d watch the Canada Day celebrations on tv, hoping, wishing, that one day I’d get to take part in the activities. And my wish came true when I moved to Ottawa in 1997. It went even beyond that when I was recruited to become part of the team organizing the Canada Day celebrations – never in my wildest dreams did I ever imagine such an opportunity… So for three years, I laboured and did my best to create a fun and exciting environment for the event participants. Unfortunately the work environment wasn’t always so fun and exciting, and I eventually left before I completely burnt out. Although I’m grateful for the experience, I am now completely content watching the celebrations from afar, in front of my tv, with a nice glass of red wine. Cheers to Canada and being Canadian!

I won’t be posting for the next few days – Wednesday morning B. and I head to the Ottawa Bluesfest to catch Van Morrison and Bob Dylan. Should be fantastic – I can’t wait!

See you soon!

3 thoughts on “Exhausted…

  1. Great work, really fantastic! The binding reminds me of a fishing net, it is really intriguing.

    From reading your posts, I almost assume we have something in common: always looking for a challenge – trying out new things – not bothering with samples but going into the real thing immediately 🙂

    Have fun with Van Morrison (I like his music very much)!
    Cheers,
    bookarat

  2. HI Natalie. I love your book its beautiful. Can’t wait to see you at Urbanscrap yard again.

Leave a Reply

