Uses for Star Books

I received an interesting question from bookarat, who asks:

What I wonder – how can you use starbooks? Are they just beautiful book objects, or can you use them for journaling or album purposes?

Although they are beautiful book objects to be admired, I’ve also seen them used very creatively. Check out this link:

Three-Layer Star Book

I love how she cut through the layers of paper and integrated photos…now that I think of it, this looks very much like the book I attempted to make without the instructions! Had I taken a few more moments to do proper research, I could have saved time and headaches (and paper)! As I said in my earlier post, I never learn…

I got the instructions for my first star book (from a few posts ago) from a book called “Books with Girth” by Cherryl Moote. She made an absolutely amazing star book with cutouts and calligraphy. Check out this page – the book in question is called “Nursery Rhyme Silhouette Star Book” and it’s about 3/4 of the way down the page. I don’t event want to think about the amount of patience required for making this book…

So as you see, star books can be used like any other scrapbook or journal – you can add pockets, embellishments, journalling, photos, anything really!

3 thoughts on “Uses for Star Books

  1. OH. MY. GOD.

    Thank you for pointing me in the direction of Andrea Deszo’s site – it is absolutely stunning. Who knew you could do so much with star books? My start books now feel so naked compared to hers!

    I’ve only looked at her site quickly, but definitely plan on going back when I have more time…

    Thanks again for this link – it’s so inspirational!

Leave a Reply

