Do Ya Think I’m Sexy?

Approximately two weeks ago I bought a pair of safety gloves to use during my crafting activities. After the nasty incident in November, during which I badly cut my finger with an x-acto knife, I’ve realized the importance of taking safety measures, even during activites as seemingly innocent as bookbinding. I had to do some research to find the “perfect” pair of gloves – I wanted something that wouldn’t be bulky or slippery, and I eventually found these:

safety-gloves.jpg

Not my sexiest pair of gloves (I look like a dork in them), but I feel much more safe and confident wearing them now.

It’s been a challenge getting back into the groove of producing more books to fill some new orders. The weather has been absolutely glorious in Toronto in the past three days, and B. and I have been going for long walks every afternoon, stopping at cafes and window shopping. It’s so exciting to realize that Spring is just around the corner – I can’t wait to experience Spring and Summer in Toronto for the first time!

Tonight I finally got my butt into gear and cut enough LPs to make several books. I still need to drill holes in them, fold the inside papers and sew everything together. When I’m making several books of the same type, I usually do it as in an assembly-line fashion. Cutting one night, folding another, and sewing yet another. I feel it’s a more efficient (and less messy) method of working.

I finished reading The Memory Keeper’s Daughter a few nights ago, and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed it, although I felt the last chapter or two were written hastily. The tone of the book changes and there aren’t nearly as many details as in previous chapters. I’ve just started reading The Petty Details of So-and-so’s Life by Camilla Gibb (check out its amazing price on chapters.ca) and am liking it very much so far, but I suspect it’s going to be a fast read…

Leave a Reply

