Art and Obsessions

I spent a few hours this morning watersanding my partner B.’s sleeping polar bear carving.
bear1.jpg
He’s a full-time artist and mostly does stone carving, although he paints as well. This past year I’ve been fortunate enough to be able to take a break from the corporate world, thanks to B.’s support (financial and otherwise). I’ve become an artist’s assistant of sorts, helping him organize his carving studio, print business cards, and finish his carvings. When he’s done carving a piece, he’s sand it quickly with rough sandpaper. That’s where I come in: I sand it with various grades of sandpaper in water, then scrub the piece clean. Pop it into the over, brush on melted wax and polish it. Depending on the size and complexity of the piece, it can take me anywhere from 1 hour to 6 hours to complete the process. Although sanding isn’t exactly a fun or exciting activity, it’s been extremely rewarding for me to better understand the creative process of a talented artist. Even though I don’t consider myself to have an artistic eye, I now can often recognize when a carving is “off”, either proportion-wise, or if it’s poorly carved by another artist.

One of my obsessions is making handmade books – last night alone I worked on 6 books. I cut and covered the covers and bound the book blocks.
book-blocks1.jpgbook-covers1.jpg

All I need to do now is glue everything together and they’re done!

Something I’ve recently discovered and quickly become obsessed with is podcasts, particularly craft- and music-related ones. I’ve subscribed to so many of them it’s hard to keep up, but I try to listen to as many as possible whenever I can. I love listening to the CraftSanity podcast while working on projects; it’s terribly inspiring to listen to such a wide gamut of craft artisans and entrepreneurs talk about their experiences and give advice on leading a crafty life. When I’m in need of a bit of humour, I’ll listen to the Quirky Nomads podcast. Their Quirky Quiz podcasts are so freaking hilarious, I can’t stop giggling the whole time I listen to them!

I’ve also discovered many indie music websites and podcasts over the past several months. It never ceases to amaze me how much talent is out there that never gets “discovered” or get radio airplay. In some ways, I prefer to discover these hidden gems myself and share them only with those people whom I know will appreciate them. It’s our little secret…

Leave a Reply

