Many firsts…

I’ve had many things on my to-do list for some time now: create a blog, start selling my handmade books, set up an Etsy shop, create a Flickr account. But I always made excuses: not enough time, too tired, it seemed too complicated, wah, wah, wah.

I finally kicked myself in the butt and decided to register for my very first craft fair, something I’d been putting off for way too long. Just over a week ago, I was a vendor at the Pedal to the Metal show in Toronto. I wanted to start with something small and not too intimidating, and this turned out to be the perfect setting for a newbie like me.

Some of the handmade books I sold:
multi-paper-book.jpgmoleskine-notebook2.jpgrecord-journal2.jpg
I made just under $200 during the 5-hour show. Not terrible, but I won’t be retiring anytime soon. I mainly wanted to gauge interest in my books and see if my prices were realistic. People certainly showed interest in my books, especially the record books, but many of the attendees were art students, and therefore broke.

I’m so happy I decided to participate in this craft fair – it gave me the confidence I needed to take part in more and to meet like-minded crafty people. And of course, one thing led to another…

About two weeks ago, as I was preparing for the fair, I stopped at a local scrapbooking shop to buy some paper for my handmade books. Now I’m not really into scrapbooking myself, mostly because I don’t have kids and not much of a life anyway, but I love many of the papers and embellishments that are sold in scrapbooking stores. I was telling the store manager that I planned to make books with the papers I was purchasing, and now she wants me to give a bookbinding class in her store! I was thrilled, as teaching bookbinding classes is something else I’ve been wanting to try, but never had the confidence to do so. So I rushed home and developed a few samples of books her customers could make. Looks like they will be booking a few classes starting next January and we’ll see how it goes from there.

So now that I’ve pushed myself to try these new things (and gotten such positive results from them), my motivation and creativity are at an all-time high! Watch out, Martha!

Leave a Reply

