Advent Calendars Galore…

You may already know that I have a fondness for advent calendar. I think I get it from my mom. As a child I remember her sewing together a large snowman advent calendar with pouches – inside each pouch was a felt ornament. Oh, how I loved it! She would also treat us to those store-bought advent calendars with a chocolate behind each door. Unfortunately I had to take turns opening the little doors with my little brothers.

Where am I going with this? Whipup has just posted a list of 30 of the best advent calendars – some of them are really gorgeous, yet so simple to make! I’m feeling very inspired at the moment…

Here’s a sampling of some advent calendars I’ve made in the past – I guess you won’t be shocked that they’re in book form!

This one is tiny, but chunky – the pockets are 2″ x 2″ and each one contains a tag. It seemed like a great idea at the time, but this book ended up taking about 8 hours to make! Between folding of the pockets, punching holes in each one, binding 24 signatures, gluing the pockets, then gluing the embellishments on each pocket…by the end of it, I was SO DONE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a larger one – I made one for my mom last year (actually, today is her birthday – Happy Birthday, Mom!) and in each pocket I included a tag with “Merry Christmas” in a different language.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do you have a great advent calendar you’d like to share? Please do!

One thought on “Advent Calendars Galore…

  1. Pingback: Homemade Advent Calendars: Links of Lightbulbs (6)

Leave a Reply

